Norway in my heart

9 Oct

Norway in my heart

I have been spending countless summers at our family farm in Norway. The name of the farm is Hoel, in English translated to Hall. Located in Sunndalen, between a deep forest, one of Norway’s best lakes for salmon-fishing, the deep fjord and mountains rising 1800 meters above sea level, this has always had a special place in my heart.

Looking deep into my soul I find this place as my place of recreation, getting away from the city and a place for exciting activities (fishing, climbing, walking, harvesting etc). Looking even deeper inside I find that this place might be one of the reasons why I am where I am in my cooking today. No, not because of the food that the Norwegians serve – frankly most of it is tasteless, grandmas waffles with blueberry and Norwegian porridge and aunties fishcakes an exception –it is because the way I am able to cook when I am there.

I have the chance to pick the ingredients with my own hands from the farm. Growing at the farm you find everything from potato, carrots and sugar snaps to herbs, strawberries and chanterelles. And naturally, it is easy to catch your own fish(which I love to do).. Hence, this place is very inspiring for me and lot of the recipes published on this blog and used during my courses will have some kind of relation to my family farm.

When writing this, a memory slowly becomes clear. It feels like yesterday. Eventually, I see two Vayus in the memory – the ten year-old experiencing it and today’s Vayu, standing as a ghost, observing the younger version of himself. I am eight years younger, up in the mountains fishing with my uncle. Recapturing this story makes me realize that the way I nurture the notion on how close food is related to feelings makes sense…

Keep your eyes open for the flashback…

 To be continued……

 

 

7 Responses to “Norway in my heart”

  1. Suzy October 9, 2010 at 9:35 PM #

    Wow. Amazing. Would love to go to Norway sometime… Excited about the flashback!! / suzy

  2. Terje October 9, 2010 at 9:39 PM #

    Beutiful! Fint Vayo/Norge

  3. awesoomeeeee October 9, 2010 at 9:42 PM #

    awesoooooome!!

  4. Mike October 9, 2010 at 9:43 PM #

    You have really captured the Norwegian atmosphere.

  5. Andres October 10, 2010 at 1:10 AM #

    When is it coming? Can’t wait haha!
    Love your blog man. My friend gave it to me. Think it is soo inspiring to see someone so young and so passionate.
    Andres

  6. vayumi October 10, 2010 at 1:39 AM #

    Thank you everybody! You keep me going!!

  7. Ak October 10, 2010 at 3:09 PM #

    Haller med alla har..mycket fin historia ser fram emot nasta. Nar har du planerat att halla kuserna? /ak in L.A

Leave a Reply

