Norway – the memory

10 Oct

A flashback

My uncles mean to much to me. When no one else has wanted, they have been the ones taking me on adventures – fishing, camping, mountain climbing and other fun things.

Sunndal, Norway. Summer 2002

This time it was Gunnar, brother of grandma and the owner of the farm, who took on me.

We were going camping in the mountains. With us we brought a tent, a pan, salt, pepper, sleeping bags, matches, a knife and fishing equipment. Practically, that was it.

When we finally reached the place we were to stay the next night, I remember how we raised the tent right between two small mountain lakes and how the soft Norwegian mountain breeze – freshness defined – caressed me. This breeze had been going on since no one knows when – the same incessant way – no trees interfering with it.

With no food with us we certainly had to catch some fish that evening. The fish in these lakes were not used to people so my uncle Gunnar emphasized that we had to be quiet, or else there would be no dinner.

Using a special, Scandinavian fishing technique called Otter, the fish should be easy to catch..

But.

1 hour passed

1,5 hours

I was hungry which equals bad mood. Now the breeze was irritating me in stead! Nothing felt good. I wanted to go home.

However, by my uncles calm appearance I could read that something was going to happen. Soon.

Splash!

In a few seconds two fine trouts had swallowed the bite. I screamed of happiness, the thought of the easily scared fish notwithstanding, and jumped like crazy. These two fishes were more than enough for both of us.

After we had lit the fire we put butter in the pan and filled the fish with salt, pepper and juniper picked from a bush right by the tent. The outcome of this cooking was stunning.

Despite my age, I realized this was not going to be repeated. I was moved by the thought.

I took the chance to just take a deep breath and catch that very moment. Sunset over high rised snowcovered mountains, the small mountain lakes colored red, a lonely eagle soaring through the sky staring at us in jealousy, the fire burning and in my mouth – the best fish dish ever, entirely created by nature.

That night I slept really well.

This is a dish and a feeling I always will remember.

Recipe

Serve with for example, lemon, chopped red onion and apple, potato mash and some sour cream.

2 teaspoons of salt

2 whole Trouts

Pepper

2 tablespoons butter

juniper

And a tablespoon of the Norwegian nature

1. Fill the fish with salt and pepper, teaspoon in each, and fill it with juniper.

2. Also put juniper, salt and pepper in the pan together with butter

3. Heat up ( preferably over an open fire ) and fry

4. Make sure the skin gets brown and crispy!

5. Serve!

7 Responses to “Norway – the memory”

  1. Olaug October 10, 2010 at 5:32 PM #

    Kjare Vayu! Det var en vakker skildring av fjellturen du og Gunnar hadde. Jeg ringer til G naa og leser opp for ham! Veldig fint skrevet.
    Han har muligens ikke visst at den turen betydde saa mye for deg!
    Lykke til med alt!

  2. Mike October 11, 2010 at 1:23 PM #

    BEAUTIFUL.

  3. Amelia from Z Tasty Life October 13, 2010 at 1:05 AM #

    I really liked your memory recount. That peacefulness and freshness you felt (and remember) is the seasoning of that moment…much like the juniper berries of the fish.

    • vayumi October 13, 2010 at 2:20 AM #

      Hi Amelia!
      Thank you so much for your comment. Means much to me..
      So do you think what I do is good?
      V

  4. forkintheroad October 13, 2010 at 2:27 AM #

    Good, really good. In some time you will become a great food journalist. No doubts!

  5. Lickmyspoon October 13, 2010 at 2:28 AM #

    Really good job maaan

  6. S October 13, 2010 at 2:29 AM #

    I would love to make this! Going to my friends house this weekend upstate there we can light an open fire!

Leave a Reply

